Starting one’s own business is a bummer.

So, if you have been following my past posts, you will know that I’ve been trying to start a postcard business. Actually, at first, I naively thought I could just make a few illustrations, stick’em on cardstock, and see if anyone would buy them on Etsy. Sounded easy enough, but the question of “how” remained. The more I researched, the more planning, effort, and expense, I realized was needed for my summer project. I am beginning to have doubts of whether or not it would be worth it for me to spend so much energy on selling postcards when my ultimate goal is to earn a living as a graphic designer. Sigh. Perhaps what I should really be doing with the month-and-a-half that’s left of my summer vacation is to brand myself as a designer.

My research has included artists and designers I stumble upon on blogs, and a book called, “The Four-Hour Work Week“. The title sounded appealing enough. The writing is done as a narrative, and shows the author as a young man, possibly in his early to mid 30s, who is a little smarmy and very smart. Basically, the book talks about how to have your cake and eat it too in the most efficient way. Who doesn’t want to do that? I have never been much of a business person, and there are parts in the book that I found useful. The author’s age and tone of voice, however, makes me second-guess his idyllic results from cutting corners. And, how can the book have a successful affect on the reader if the reader is distrustful of the writer? What I will take from it, is the advice to ask people who are thriving in the field I want to get into their stories.

Leave a Reply

